Open Division Preliminary Round Void of Surprises on Sunday at Ak-Chin Smash in the Sun

Sunday’s preliminary round of the Open Division at the Ak-Chin Smash in the Sun by and large was void of surprise, as nine of the top-10 men in the World Long Drive rankings cruised through to Monday’s Round of 32.

World No. 10 Jeff Gavin was unable to make it through Sunday’s preliminary round, and World No. 21 Nick Kiefer was forced to withdraw due to a lingering injury to his hand.

The longest drive of the day came from No. 6 and 2018 World Long Drive Championship runner-up Justin Moose, who blistered one 410 yards. Eddie Fernandes (No. 20) and Kyle Berkshire (No. 5) also eclipsed the 400-yard threshold, with drives of 408 and 403 yards respectively.

Monday morning’s Round of 32 gets underway at 11 a.m. ET, and – by 4 p.m. ET Monday afternoon – the field is scheduled to be narrowed down to the eight men advancing to Tuesday afternoon’s live telecast on GOLF Channel (4 p.m. ET). The full list of hitters advancing to the Round of 32 are below (listed by World Long Drive ranking):

Justin James (1), Maurice Allen (2), Will Hogue (3), Ryan Steenberg (4), Kyle Berkshire (5), Justin Moose (6), Ryan Reisbeck (7), Paul Howell (8), Tim Burke (9), Trent Scruggs (11), Mark Costello (12), Wes Patterson (14), Steve Kois (15), Josh Cassaday (18), Kevin Shook (19), Eddie Fernandes (20), Troy Teal (22), Glenn Wilson Jr. (23), Steve Monroe (24), Scott Kalamar (30), Joe Miller (31), Dan McIntosh (35), Press LaBrie (36), Martin Borgmeier (37), James Tait (38), Patrick Hopper (42), Jacob Golliday (45), Jeff Crittenden (46), Rob Tiettmeyer (54), Travis Britt (60), John Buck (75) and Paul Ostby (77).

Nick KieferJustin MooseEddie FernandesJeff GavinKyle BerkshireAk-Chin Smash in the Sun


You might also like: